RWI Media Training Alums Win Journalism Prizes

Patience Atuhaire receives the prize for the broadcast category.
Country: Uganda
Facebook logoTwitter logo

Congratulations to all the winners of the Best Reporting on Oil, Gas and Mining for 2012 prizes, awarded by the African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME) and RWI. The annual awards are held to raise the profile of the oil, gas and mining sectors and encourage more reporting on these industries. Bernard Tabaire, ACME co-founder and director of programmes at the African Centre for Media Excellence, announced the winners at a ceremony last night in Kampala.

Notably, five of the last night's winners are alumni of RWI, Thomson Reuters Foundation and ACME's media training program.

Gerald Tenywa of The New Vision won the print category award for his 8 November 2012 story: "How prepared is NEMA for the oil waste?" Tabaire noted the story for its "deft deployment of scientific data coupled with clear writing to create a compelling narrative that rises beyond rhetoric to bring to life an otherwise perennially reported issue."

Patience Atuhaire (pictured above with Godber Tumushabe, executive director of Advocates Coalition for Development and Environment, and ACME board chairperson Monica Chibita) of Uganda Radio Network was the broadcast category winner for her 30-minute radio documentary of 2 July 2012: "Will Ugandan Technicians Get Oil Jobs?" Tabaire praised the feature as "a well-sourced, well-researched and balanced documentary" that tells "a compelling story about the opportunities that exist for Uganda’s technicians in the emerging oil industry."

Isaac Imaka, the overall runner-up, was cited for his story in The Daily Monitor"The dulled promise of Uganda's gold sector." Media training alums Haggai Matsiko of The Independent and Mark Keith Muhumuza of The CEO Magazine received special mentions. Matsiko was cited for his article "Secret oil deals," and Muhumuza for "Has enough been done to manage expectations?".

See the full list of winners in ACME's coverage of the awards.

Suzanne Ito blogs for RWI.

Post new comment